A New Inspiration

image

Carolyn here again. These are two of my beautiful coworkers, Koletta and José (photo by Jesse). We’ve worked together for 14 years. More about them in a minute.

I’ve had a number of successful runs on the Marathon course since my last post, and a great time at the Martha’s Vineyard 20-Miler in mid-February (just finishing before the blizzard started). Today’s announcement from the Boston Athletic Association about the new race-day restrictions was a real blow, though. After all that our city — and particularly the survivors of the attack — have been through in the last year, it feels like a response of fear rather than strength. I understand the need for security. I guess I just don’t like the need for it.

So, when I was releasing my anger and sadness on a set of 12x400m intervals tonight, I realized that I miss having a positive external reason to run. In past years, when I had a hard run, I would think of all of the people I was fundraising to help, and all of the donors who believed in my ability to go the distance. And off I would go. This year, I have a number without “having to” fundraise.

I don’t have to do this. Don’t have to run. Don’t have to fundraise. I just want to.

Back to Koletta and José: My coworkers are an inspiration to me. Each one of them has worked so hard and sacrificed so much to be where they are, to make a better life for their families, to create the opportunity to continue working together as a worker-owned cooperative. With their permission, I’ll share some of their stories in the coming weeks. If you come to love and believe in them as much as I do, I hope you’ll consider making a tax-deductible donation to support our co-op’s democratic education initiatives.

We are blazing a trail as a diverse, bilingual cooperative, and we need your help to grow as a team of worker-owners. By supporting A Yard & A Half Cooperative, you are supporting the local Boston economy and creating resilience, self-determination, and justice. And that is a response of strength rather than fear.

image

Plant identification class in Spanish

Leave a Reply

